

SARANATHAN COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING Venkateswara Nagar, Panjappur, Tiruchurappalli – 620012 (Affiliated to Anna University – Chennai) TALENZIA 2021 (An Inter School Competition)



A Report on TALENZIA 2021

(inters school competition)

20-03-2021

Under the able guidance of our college Secretary Sri. S.Ravindran, Saranathan College of Engineering conducted, Talenzia 2021, an inter-school online competition on 19th and 20th March 2021 for 11th and 12th standard school students. The inauguration function of the competition, held on 19th March started at 9.30 a.m. in the ECE Conference Hall, with Invocation. Dr. D. Valavan, Principal welcomed the gathering. Dr. Y. Venkataramani, Dean (R&D) inaugurated Talenzia 2021 and delivered his inaugural address. He enlightened the students on the scope of education in the current scenario. He also highlighted the need for exposing the skill set of the students, especially in a competitive environment and wished the students all success. Prof. Iyer. S. Gopal, Academic Chairperson of I year, felicitated the event giving examples of three famous personalities and their grabbing the opportunities to become successful. The convener of Talenzia 2021, Dr. C. Vennila, Professor, department of ECE proposed the vote of thanks.

In all six different competitions were conducted in which 491 students from 51 schools from all over the southern region of the country and one school from Jamshedpur participated. The competitions were:

- 1. Poster making
- 2. Talkathon
- 3. Quiz
- 4. Spell Bee
- 5. Game Development
- 6. Short Film

89 students participated In the Online Poster Making competition, while for Talkathon 37 students, and for the Quiz 78 teams (156 students). Similarly, 92 teams (184 students) participated in the Spell Bee competition while in Game Development and in the short Films section 43 and 32 respectively. All the events were conducted in such a way that any student could participate in more than one event. Feedback was received from some schools that some of the students could not participate in the Spell Bee and Quiz competitions because of practical exams that clashed with the announced competition times. Despite the late notice and very short preparation time available and in order to ensure that such students are not disappointed an extra session of Spell Bee and Quiz competitions were conducted later in the evening and successful performers were added into the final rounds that were scheduled for the 20th March.

The valedictory function started at 3.30 p.m. on 20th March. in the ECE Seminar Hall. Dr. Krishnakumar, Professor and Head of Department of EEE welcomed all. An eminent alumnus,

Ms Rathipush Subramanian, a Senior Python Developer, ADAPT2 Solutions, Houston, TEXAS USA, delivered the valedictory address and announced the prize winners. She highlighted the need of planning in student's life quoting her own experiences to stress that point. 32 prizes were announced including two surprise additional prizes each for Spell Bee and Quiz. The list of the students from the following schools

- 1. St. Isabel Girls Hr.Sec. school, Patukotai.
- 2. Cauvery Matric. Hr.Sec. School, Trichy
- 3. Fatima Marticulation Hr.Sec. School, Jayankondam
- 4. NTR PU College, Deeksha, Sarjapur Road, Bangalore.
- 5. St.Antony's Hr.Sec. School, Manapparai.
- 6. Seva snagam Girls Hr.Sec. School, Trichy
- 7. Amrita Vidhaylam, Trichy
- 8. Sowdambika Mount Litera Zee school, Trichy
- 9. Montfort School, Trichy
- 10. DAV Public school, East singhbhum, Jamshedpur

were adjudged as prize winners of each event and awarded cash prizes based on the recommendations of the judges of the events. The guest of honour of the valedictory function announced the list of prize winners. Dr. S.M. Girirajkumar, Professor & Head, Department of ICE and Head, T & P proposed the vote of thanks.

Label for Inauguration photo-DSC 00748

Left to right

 Dr. C. Vennila, Professor/ECE, 2. Prof. Iyer. S. Gopal, Academic Chairperson of I year 3. Dr. D. Valavan, Principal 4.Dr.M.Santhi,Head/Prof/ECE.

Label for Valedictory photo-DSC 00827

Left to right

1. Dr.V.Mohan,Assoc. Professor/ECE, 2.Dr.C.Krishnakumar,Head/Prof/EEE,3. Dr. D. Valavan, Principal, 4. Prof. Iyer. S. Gopal, Academic Chairperson of I year





alti